#150

didn’t know the power stored in my hair
until drops of purple rained down upon my head
nourshing the roots

didn’t know the beauty of my hair
until the sun came and shone down upon me
a radiant shine akin to the Fine Divine of an opened mind

didn’t know the fluidity of my hair
until a light twister wrapped it up on the right way ’round
blustering in the gusts of ivory ash and soots
standing firm & tall akin to ebony thigh high boots

a notion seen as obscene in many parts around

too many

still I shine

my right to shine
yes, your’s too

didn’t know I had the power to do it on my own
& that I am not truly alone

as long as I harness the power of my hair
I’m home

Leave a Reply

