Make Mother Merry Proud

clock punched 10 hours later
no blood shed no feelings hurt
where’s my congratulations

took a shower
sins washed clean from my body
dingy run off did not leave a ring in the tub
where’s my reward

saw a deformed freak in the street
no gaffes did not stare did not ridicule
I’m a humanitarian
where’s my prize?

human beings being human 
enough to blow your mind clear across the Atlantic
for I, we, exist
where’s our just desserts?

One thought on “Make Mother Merry Proud

Leave a Reply

