CustomerService Superiority & Entitlement

I have a fairly decent job at the moment. The hourly rate is wet salty garbage but the hours are steady, the work itself isn’t as trite as some of positions I’ve held in the past, and most of my coworkers are (almost) as apathetic as I am so it’s been easy for me to fit right in. I’ve been working in the customerservice field for the past 6 years and needlesstosay at this point everything feels the same, a Professional Groundhog Day.

Ask any customerservice employee what the hardest part of their job is & 100% of them will say something, like Dealing with customer stupidity and having to force out a smile instead of speaking your mind. What really gets me through the workday is being able to walk up to any of my coworkers with a “You won’t believe what this lady just said…” story & knowing they’ll completely understand and counteract with their own. We take consolation in knowing that we’re soooooo much better than those knuckledragging “gimme gimme gimme” no common sense having noncontributing product-sponge bastards.

Well, if were so fuckin’ advanced, what are we doin’ working here?” – Randal Graves, Clerks

And once we clock out and snatch off our name badges, we leave and head off to other stores, restaurants, bars and become someone else’s “You won’t believe this asshole…” story. Phony supremacy gives our insignificant jobs a scrap of meaning & dignity.

As I stand in my kitchen typing this post and waiting on my 5th serving of allegedly 100% Colombian coffee to finish brewing, I’m hyper aware that my shift starts in about 90 minutes.

Some of you may think that amount of coffee is excessive. Corporate CEOs & executives, Wall St. fatcats, and politicians snort cocaine and gulp down hard drink during work hours to become “good” at their jobs. If I did that I wouldn’t get a raise via government bailout, my ass would be thrown in prison. So excessive caffeine & nicotine consumption is a mere tiny pebble in the rocky terrain our superiors climb daily.

Another day, Another Dollar before Tax.

2 thoughts on “CustomerService Superiority & Entitlement

Leave a Reply

