this is an Introduction.

I was standing outside on my back patio the other night looking up past the three 6ft fence walls that surrounded me, past the dirty whitewood clapboard siding of the condominium, and up into the night sky.

It was 3am. The sky seemed barren at first, the only objects immediately visible being the obvious ones anyone with a 3rd grade science education could point out. The moon. Polaris the North Star. Between those two points, nothing. As if god painted a canvas all black and left two spots unmarked to remember what color he started off with.

But I kept staring up there and after a while stars, planets, and other celestial bodies started to force their way into my vision. I’d be looking into a blank patch and a bright light would wiggle its way into position, like a person swaddled in a blanket and settling in to a comfortable spot on a couch. Why wasn’t I able to see it before? It so obviously belonged there, I couldn’t imagine it not being there and couldn’t unsee it. Day or night, that celestial object has always been there. I just couldn’t see it. Too distracted, uninterested, or whatever the case may be.

Go to a mall or walk around in your city’s metropolitan area and you’ll walk by many faces and bodies. But you probably won’t actually see them. They’re just mass, something taking up space and in your way. You’re too preoccupied with whatever is ruminating in your mind to give them much thought or attention. Tasks that need completed, meals to cook, material rubbish to purchase that you most likely don’t need, words roosting on the back of your tongue left unsaid to whomever. Absentminded & faraway. Just don’t bump into them, that would be rude.

So the sky appeared brighter and brighter as each “new” celestial body revealed itself to me and I started to search for patterns & constellations. An airplane flew by overhead heading off to whoknowswhere. The passengers on board were probably unaware that they were flying over Columbus, Ohio. From that height, everything on ground would be as indistinguishable as the bright lights floating above us all. Completely oblivious to all the life and energy buzzing underneath their feet.
But we’re here.

And I was there. Still trying to make sense of the clusters of white speckled across the vast black expanse. A shooting star darted by and disappeared as quickly as it came. I tried to think of a wish but my cigarette, smoked down past the filter, burned my fingertips causing me to forget that I even saw it.

Anyway.
I don’t know how to start a conversation, let alone a public blog.

On here I’ll be posting random musings, opinions (political or otherwise), anecdotes, & whatever else comes to mind.
I really don’t know what to tag this first post with. So the tags attached to this are a few of the topics I’ll be addressing as time goes along.
I hope you’ll join me on this journey.

Welcome.

2 thoughts on “this is an Introduction.

  1. I’m entranced by your writing. You’ve got much more talent than most of the rest of us. Do you not know that? What’s your background in writing? I understand if you don’t want to say, but I’m just curious. If you told me you’re a professional writer I would say, “Ha! I thought so. You didn’t fool me.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

